Where Is The Church, Christ’s Body?

By Wanda Parker

I visited a different KidTrek Associate Center yesterday.

I’m still fighting back the tears from yesterday.  My heart is so heavy.  I want so bad to communicate to you the great need that is just within miles of where you live.  In Matthew 18 Jesus warns us about how we will be judged if we don’t care for the children.  Where is the Church?  Why isn’t the church more proactive?

I sat eating snack with a group of 5th and 6th graders when the Secondary Nurturer asked, “How was your Thanksgiving?”

“Horrible!” was the simple reply of one child.

“Horrible?  Why was it so horrible?”

“My aunt got in a big fight with another woman over a man.  They were hitting and pulling hair.  It was horrible.  I just wanted to get out of there.”

You had to hear her voice to get the total impact of this child’s pain.

A macho 6th grade boy dressed in his low riding pants commented, “Roy, I’m going to visit my dad in Georgia. I wish I could live with my dad, but then if I lived with my dad I couldn’t come to the center. I don’t want to leave the center.”

I had to fight back the tears.  I felt the pain of these kids. 

Then there was another kid who sat across from me who never spoke – a 6th grader also.  My heart kept being tugged towards him.  I learned that the school is at the point of just passing him forward because they don’t know what else to do with him.  His parents don’t have the sophistication to know how to get him more help.  He has some type of brain damage but no one knows what it is nor how to help him.  The Secondary Nurturer is doing research and is fighting for him in the school district and beyond.  (The tears are coming as I write – what if this was my child?  What if this was your child?  You’d probably have the sophistication to fight for him, the education to know places to go, a support system to fight for him.)

These kids are the lucky ones – they have a Secondary Nurturer who is walking through life with them.  Someone to fight for them.  But what about all the kids who have NO ONE!

Are you a follower of Jesus Christ?  What are you doing about the Invisible Children of America?

I truly believe the Lord is going to ask you one day what you did.

These kids don’t need “drive-by evangelism.”  They don’t need a drop-in after school center.  They don’t need only a tutoring center.  They don’t need a once a week Bible Club.

This is what they need:

  • Long term quality relationship with a godly adult.
  • An adult with the education and sophistication to fight for their real needs (as opposed to felt needs).
  • An adult willing to get emotionally involved in their lives (Secondary Nurturers shed many a tear in the fight for these kids.)
  • An adult committed to becoming a friend of the kids parents/primary nurturers.
  • An adult committed to building a relationship with every Social Service Professional involved in the family’s life.
  • An adult willing to work alongside of the child’s school teacher to make sure s/he is receiving the best education possible and is following through on all assignements – just like you would do for your own child.
  • An adult willing to spend so much time in prayer for the child that s/he is giving up things s/he wants to do for her/himself because s/he is pouring into the life of the child.
  • An adult who is fully committed to Jesus Christ.

Several years ago I was speaking at a conference of Inner City Workers in Philadelphia when a huge burden came over me.  I awoke in the middle of the night and I couldn’t get back to sleep.  I got up and took out my Bible and began reading, crying and calling out to God.  I wrote the following in my Bible that night, “Raise up an army of servants to work with the children in the cities.”

That was impossible!  Or is it?  If you are a follower of Jesus Christ also, do we not serve the God of the impossible?

Now our Heavenly Father has given KidTrek the vision of putting missionaries into churches across America.  You may not be able to be a missionary but you can:

  • pray that the Lord will raise up the missionaries and provide for their support,
  • give to support the missionaries,
  • volunteer a couple of hours a week,
  • spread the word – tell friends, family, everyone of the potential if we reach the children.

Where is the church? Together, you and I can make a difference in the lives of thousands of children across America. Will you join KidTrek in this “impossible” task?

Yes, for those of you who know me best, I’m still fighting the tears and emotions as the passion to reach the children overwhelms me.  I know it is a passion the Holy Spirit has placed within me.  May the Lord bless you as you ponder what the Lord’s will is for you to do in this battle to reach the Invisible Children of America.  No Child should be Left Behind because we were too caught up with the business of our own lives.

7 responses to “Where Is The Church, Christ’s Body?

  1. We must agree to disagree on the need for the Christian aspect of these things – you’re Christian and I’m Pagan – but for the rest I agree completely.

    An involved nurturing adult who can by example as well as words promote an ethical and beneficial behavior set is what children need.

    Frankly, I don’t care much about which religion – if any – is espoused. Our ethics in practice aren’t very much different from each others.

  2. We can agree to disagree, but know I care about your soul.

    I’m sure you’ve heard Christians say this before – but I do try to live it. To me being a Christian isn’t a “religion” but a relationship with the one true God, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.

    Thank you so much for interacting with us here.

  3. Jonolan,

    Thank you for your continued interest and shared concern for our mission and what we are seeking to accomplish.

    I am moved by your desire to see GENUINE nurturing for kids that does not hypocritically take advantage of people and where they are at.

    The sad reality is that most Christians, me included, have not lived a very good example of the truth and reality Jesus left us in His Scriptures…thank you God for your grace and mercy!

    And I agree with you also that on the surface, “our ethics in practice aren’t very much different from each others;” but I believe there is a deeper underlying issue that Christianity touches on that no other religion does…the basis for salvation.

    While all religions promotes good works, ethics, character, etc, I do believe (and I struggle saying this being it can sound so arrogant) Christianity to be the only “faith” that promotes a “free salvation.”

    Meaning, none of us are capable of doing enough good works, living a good life, etc to assuage our guilt, frustration, pain in life. Only God can reconcile us to himself, and he did so by sacrificing his son on our behalf, then defeating that death by raising him from the dead.

    The free gift is reconciliation…peace…joy found only in him through faith that He did this. All our ethics and good works then are not for those things, but as a response to what God has done for us.

    This is what KidTrek…and the local church… is, or should be, communicating to the world…if not their local community.

    Christians believe only God can bring us peace…and when we trust in Him he will help us live through this cursed hell on earth that has been ensnared in sin (i.e.,rebellion against God).

  4. Wanda,

    I feel your pain as you describe what these kids experience every day, holiday or not. It sounds like the Secondary nurturer has spoken with the school social worker and/or psychologist and perhaps is checking online regarding the symptoms exhibited. In addition, I encourage him/her to seek out mental health professionals in the area. As a school social worker, I discovered a psychologist’s office right down the street from our school. He proved to be an invaluable source of information and expertise for me in dealing with a variety of issues presented by the kids and families.

    I pray for this Secondary nurturer who is truly going the extra mile for this child and others. I thank you, Jesus, for each Secondary nurturer who are willing to “stand in the gap” for kids.

    Sheryl

  5. Joseph,

    Each of us believes our faith is the path to salvation – though we differ on what that means. My concern in the case of these kids is that they get the immediate emotion and mental support they need in order not to fall into despair.

    None of us will have served our faiths if we allow these children to die inside and never even look beyond this world for an answer. While they live in body and in soul there is hope for them.

  6. Jonolan,

    Yes, I agree, we all do believe our faith is the path to salvation, but I do not believe everyone is correct.

    Jesus was very direct and very specific when he said, “I am the way the truth and the life, NO ONE shall come to the Father BUT BY ME.”

    I am sorry, I guess we may have to agree to disagree…but either Jesus was a liar, he was crazy, or he was speaking the Truth.

    Based on what he communicates in my heart through his word (and His Holy Spirit…I know, I know…it sounds a bit fruit loopish…I must admit I cannot explain it…as was said in an earlier comment by Wanda, it is a relationship, and unless you know that person personally I can only tell you about him) I choose to believe he is speaking the truth.

    That said, I am in absolute agreement with everything else you have said. We will keep fighting the good fight to help kids grow to become productive adults.

    I love this Jonolan, keep letting me know what you think. I’m not offended by your being blunt with what you believe or think on this.

  7. Pingback: Christian After School Programs: ARE YOU SPIRITUALLY READY TO SERVE THE KIDS? | KidTrek – After School Programs

Leave a Reply

