Christians Serving the Poor – Are We Arrogant?

By Wanda Parker

KidTrek  ON-LINE Training for more information click here

“For behold, the day is coming, burning like a furnace; and all the arrogant and every evildoer will be chaff; and the day that is coming will set them ablaze,” says the Lord of hosts, “so that it will leave them neither root nor branch.

“But for you who fear My name, the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in its wings; and you will go forth and skip about like calves from the stall.”  Malachi 4:1&2

Yes, I know verse one is speaking of non-believers being arrogant – but do we need to question and examine our hearts when arrogance creeps up?  Are we even willing to admit we are arrogant?

“Therefore, brethren, be all the more diligent to make certain about His calling and choosing you …”
II Peter 1:10

Several years ago I read the testimony of a woman who had grown up in a wealthy family.  She said she chaffed at the attitude and arrogance her family had towards the poor.  She was determined she would not be like her family – she would serve the poor, she would live amongst them and be one of them.

One day as she sat with her neighbors and friends in the ghetto she suddenly realized she was as arrogant now towards the wealthy as her family had been towards the poor.  She wrote that she had had to examine her heart and her motives for serving the poor. She realized how cunning Satan is as he draws us away from God.

I think that the key in the Malachi passage is “you who fear My name.”  Do I fear God?  Do you fear God?

It is easy to make serving the poor an idol.

It is easy to get caught up with pride, “Look at me, I’ve lowered myself to serve these needy people. Aren’t I great?”

As this attitude builds in my heart I refuse to come with fear and trembling before God, I refuse to submit to the Word of God, because then I have to admit the sinfulness in my own heart.  If I am honest with myself at this point the truth is I am more interested in making myself look good, making myself feel good about myself than I care about the needy.

It is at this point the poor become my idol, because the poor lift me up and make me look grand to those around me. It feels so good to hear things like, “Wow, I could never do what you do.”  “You are so humble to serve the poor.”  The accolades can go on and on and it feels so good.

If the accolades don’t come I can give them to myself – “I’m the only one that cares about the poor.” etc. etc.

What is more evil than using the needy to lift myself up?

Who, what god do I truly worship?   Who, what god do you worship?

If you want to know what KidTrek believes the poor need click here

2 responses to “Christians Serving the Poor – Are We Arrogant?

  1. I am serving in AmeriCorps this year… I am serivng because I want to give back to my comminuty and I also want to give to God what is his and always has been… My Life.

  2. That is awesome Heidi. I met my husband while serving in the forerunner to the AmeriCorps – VISTA – Volunteers In Service To America. It was a lot different way back there in the sixties 🙂

    May the Lord bless you as you serve. May He open doors for you to share His love.

    Would love to hear more about where you are serving.

Leave a Reply

