Christian After School Programs: Don’t Just Throw Jesus At Kids!

What if you have given kids the whole world, but they lose their soul?

Have you then accomplished anything?

At the same time you can’t just throw Jesus at the kids and give them the impression that everything will work out and be okay. Just because they join God’s family today their home situation isn’t going to be different when they go home.

It is so important that we LIVE life with the kids and in the process they can catch what it means to walk with God. As they go through difficult circumstances – how does God fit into that place?

Here is a story directly from a KidTrek-trained adult:

“Did I tell you about our situation with the girls coming to the Center the other day?

“They were approached by an older man entreating them to, ‘come here.’

“We had just done safety training the week before…from the ‘Love’ curriculum…

“…We taught them what to do if they were ever approached by a stranger… and they did exactly what they were supposed to do.

“In the training I even shared with the kids my story from when I was five years old and almost got kidnapped…

“…Because I still had fear of that happening to me…

I also told them how the Lord gave me a picture in my head one day…

“…of my guardian angel standing in between me and the bad men…

“It was awesome! The kids really liked that.

“Anyway…right after they were confronted by the man, they ran home to Jenny’s apartment.

“As soon as I heard, I went to Jenny’s to comfort them.

“I prayed with the girls, reminding them Jesus had protected them and they were safe now.

“I also told them Jesus loves them so much that He provided the training last week so they would know exactly what to do.

“I told them they did great!

“But Rachel did not want to go to the Center because the guy had been right out front. So I asked her, ‘what do I tell you to do when you’re scared?’…

“…she said, ‘Talk to Jesus.’

“I said, ‘That’s right…so that’s what we’re going to do right now.’

“I also called the police…who came over and wrote a report.

“I totally see how God works!

“How He uses us in these kids’ lives…over time they trust us and know that we love them…but that’s a great example of the way God is using us in this Center.

God is so good!”

Note how the Secondary-Nurturer lived it with the girls so they could catch various ways that God works.

  • God had gone before them and prepared them through the training.
  • They had learned that their Secondary-Nurturer had gone through a similar situation.
  • They had been taught to and the Secondary-Nurturer did right then – talk to Jesus about everything and every where.
This story didn’t show it, thankfully, but the kids often discuss the difficult times when God doesn’t provide or protect – where is He then? 
Romans 8:28 – for those who walk with God there is a plan and a purpose in everything. It often isn’t easy.
For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock.” (Ps. 27:5)
One response to “Christian After School Programs: Don’t Just Throw Jesus At Kids!

  1. awesome post! we should chat soon. miss you friend!

Leave a Reply

