Church Based After School Ministry: How Do I Gain Control?

Do you sometimes feel as though you are at a complete loss of how to gain control? Katie Weatherbee offers an awesome tool.

Teaching Tips: How can a teacher get a group of kids to settle down?

Anyone who has taught kids knows how hard it can be to help them transition to a time of learning. Whether they’re returning from recess or PE, bouncing after a rowdy worship session, or just plain excited because it’s snowing outside, kids sometimes need help settling down!

About 10 years ago, I had a class of ALL boys…the energy level was high almost all of the time, and transitions were particularly difficult. This was a self-contained class for kids with special needs, and at least half of my students struggled with maintaining attention. I often felt that I spent the majority of the day directing them (okay, nagging and pleading…) to settle down so that we could get some work done. I used to periodically tape-record our class so I could listen to my interactions with the kids and analyze my teaching.** When I listened to those tapes, I was appalled at how much “nagging” I was doing. No wonder the boys were tuning me out!

Read Katie’s entire post at DIVING FOR PEARLS – you will be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

